Humble High School

Crosby, Kingwood Park and Dayton dominate District 21-5A All-District selections

As expected Crosby, Kingwood Park and Dayton dominated the District 21-5A baseball All-District selections. With 37 spots available for first and second teamers, the three garnered a combined total of 23 selections.

Head coach Chris Wiggins was named the district’s Coach of the Year. His first teamers are led by District MVP Nathan Gabryszwski of Crosby and Co-Defensive Players of the Year Austin Hearn of Crosby and Jerry Maddox of Dayton. Kingwood Park’s Steven Hodgson was named Offensive Player of the Year and sophomore Garrison Taska was the Newcomer of the Year.

Wiggins’ first team pitching staff is led by K-Park’s Jason Blanchard and Crosby’s Sean Bergeron. Mason Furlong of Barbers Hill and sophomore hurler Nate Ralph of Porter round out the rotation.

The infield is manned by Dayton’s Jordan Trahan and Crosby’s Jonathan Riffle at the corners. The first team double play combination features Dayton’s Zach Vincent at shortstop and Barbers Hill second baseman Trevor Kitchen. Hunter Hearn of Crosby is the first team backstop.

Crosby centerfielder Mario Sequera is joined by Kingwood Park’s Garrett Velko, Wilson Orphey of CE King and Bryan Taylor from Barbers Hill.

The District 21-5A Utility Player of the Year is New Caney senior Trevor Johnson while Crosby’s Alec Lewis is the designated hitter.
Kingwood Park placed five players on the second team including Chafe Martin, Zack Keller, Blake Ledoux, Curtis Rhodes and pitcher Mitchell McFarland. Crosby’s Charley Harber earned the nod as a second team second baseman. Dayton outfielder Tristan Baughman, pitcher Josh Eckerman and utility player Chase Wisegerber also grabbed second team honors. Galena Park and the Humble Wildcats had three players each selected to the second team. Galena Park’s players included pitcher Carlos Gaonzales, outfielder Ryan Gonzales and third baseman Joshua Perez. Humble was represented by sophomore hurler Avery Sheldon, outfielder Jacob Rawlinson and second baseman Tyrese Clayborne. Porter’s Alec Norris is the second team designated hitter and New Caney’s Kade Pechanec rounds out the pitching staff.

Written by: Lou Roesch

Internet Explorer has been retired and will not work with the video player.

For a more seamless viewing experience we recommend using the latest version of Chrome, Firefox, Edge, or Safari

Most Popular (30 days)

To Top